Board of Directors

Jim Leech C.M. is the Chair of the MasterCard Foundation Board of Directors. Mr. Leech is Chancellor of Queen’s University, one of Canada’s leading universities, and Senior Advisor with McKinsey and Company. He recently retired as President and CEO of the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan, where he oversaw the management of $140 billion in fund assets and the administration of pensions for over 300,000 plan members in Ontario, Canada. During his business career, Mr. Leech gained global recognition for his expertise and leadership in the pension management and private equity industries and as CEO of several public companies. In 2014, Mr. Leech was invested as a Member of the Order of Canada for his contributions as an innovator in pension management, for his writings on the subject of retirement funding and for his community involvement.

Douglas Baillie is Chief Human Resources Officer of Unilever. He serves on the Executive Board (ULE) of Unilever. Doug started his career with Unilever in 1978 in South Africa. His career with Unilever has seen him taking various sales and marketing appointments and serving in a number of leadership roles around the world. He has served as the Managing Director for Lever Pond in South Africa in 1997 and became the National Manager for Unilever South Africa in May 2000. Mr. Baillie moved to India in March 2006 and was appointed as CEO for Hindustan Unilever Limited and Group Vice President in South Asia. Doug is a member of the Synergos Board a non-profit organization and will join the Board of the Leverhulme Trust in the second half of 2015. Doug graduated from the University of Natal in South Africa with majors in Business Finance, Marketing and Business Administration.

Craig Calhoun has been Director of the London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) since September 2012. In the U.S., Craig was President of the Social Science Research Council, and taught at the University of North Carolina, Columbia University, and New York University where he was most recently University Professor of Social Sciences and Director of the Institute for Public Knowledge. Mr. Calhoun’s many publications bring together theory and empirical research across several disciplines. His books on politics and social movements include: Neither Gods Nor Emperors: Students and the Struggle for Democracy in China and The Roots of Radicalism. Craig studied social anthropology at Manchester and has a Ph.D. in sociology and modern social and economic history from

Jendayi Frazer is adjunct senior fellow for Africa studies at the Council on Foreign Relations (CFR). Frazer was a distinguished public service professor at Carnegie Mellon University from 2009 to 2014, where she was on the faculty of Heinz College’s School of Public Policy and Management. She is the Director of the university’s Center for International Policy and Innovation (CIPI) and Adjunct Senior Fellow for Africa Studies at the Council on Foreign Relations. Dr. Frazer served as the U.S. Assistant Secretary of State for African Affairs and as Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for African Affairs at the National Security Council. She was the first woman U.S. Ambassador to South Africa. Dr. Frazer received the Distinguished Service Award, the highest award bestowed by the Secretary of State. 

President Festus G. Mogae led the Republic of Botswana from 1998 to 2008. Under his leadership, Botswana experienced steady economic growth that has characterized its post-independence history. President Mogae has received a number of awards, including the 2008 Mo Ibrahim Prize for Achievement in African Leadership and the Grand Cross of the Legion d’honneur by French President Nicolas Sarkozy. He serves as Chairman of the Advisory Board of Coalition of Dialogue on Africa (CoDA) and is a Member of the Global Commission on Elections, Democracy and Security, as well as a Trustee of the Rhodes Trust.

Don Morrison was the Chief Operating Officer, BlackBerry with Research In Motion (RIM – now BlackBerry), a position he held from 2000 until his retirement in the Fall of 2011. Prior to joining RIM, Mr. Morrison held a number of senior leadership positions in the international telecom sector. Mr. Morrison is the co-founder of the Morrison Family Foundation and the founder of the Centre for Compassion and Contemplation.  He is also a member of Yellow Media and the Dalai Lama Center for Ethics and Transformative Values at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

Hutham Olayan is a principal, director and senior executive of The Olayan Group, a private, multinational enterprise that is both a global investor and diversified commercial business in Saudi Arabia and wider Middle East.  As President and CEO of Olayan America, Ms. Olayan is responsible for all of the group’s investment activity in the Americas.  Ms. Olayan has been a Director of Morgan Stanley since 2006.  In the non-profit sector, she serves on the boards of the American University of Beirut, Georgetown University, Peterson Institute for International Economics, and Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center.

Tim Solso is the former Chairman and CEO of Cummins Inc. Under his leadership, Cummins became a Fortune 250 company that designs, produces, and sells diesel engines, power generation equipment, and related components in more than 190 countries and territories. Mr. Solso was named a top five finalist in Marketwatch’s CEO of the Decade and has received numerous awards including the Ellis Island Medal of Honor and the William R. Laws Human Rights Award. He is a Director of Ball Corp., General Motors Corp., and serves on the Board of EARTH University and the EARTH University Foundation. He also served as a member of President Barack Obama’s Management Advisory Board.